Bookmark :

21 Oct 2016 - Kaylah Williams wins Ackerman Championship

Kaylah Williams wins Ackerman Championship

Report by Sarah Braude

Clovelly, 16 October 2016: As the sun dawned over the Clovelly fairways, the Championship Division teed off for the playing of their 2nd round in the race to win the 54-hole Gus Ackerman trophy.

With a bunched leader board it was important to to take advantage of the good morning scoring conditions before going into the final round in the afternoon.

Hot off the pace was Western Province and Belville's Kaylah Williams who with a hot putter pencilled in five birdies with only two drops to post a 3-under par 69. Sarah Bouch from Ekuhurleni was also enjoying the Clovelly fairways and greens with a 3-under-par opening 9, but some dropped shots on the back 9 saw her sign for a level par second round.

At the 36 hole mark, the 14 year old Williams joined SA Womens's Amateur Match Play champion Lumien Orton on +2 for the championship lead. With Sarah Bouch one shot and defending champion Danielle du Toit and Ekurhuleni's Casandra Hall two shots off the pace.

In the afternoon's final round, the leaderboard kept changing as Kaylah Williams, Lumien Orton, Danielle du Toit, Kajal Mistry and Sarah Bouch took on the challenge of the Clovelly course.

Kaylah Williams continued her birdie run, including a birdie on the final hole, however, some dropped shots on 6th and 14th holes still saw her sign for a one-over-par in the final round and post a 54 hole Championship score of two-over-par (219). With Lumien Orton still on the course, it was a nail bitting wait for Williams. Notwithstanding a birdie on the 18th, dropped shots at the 11th and tricky 12th hole, saw Orten finish three shots off the pace.

This is Kaylah Williams maiden provincial championship win after she won the B Division at the SA Women's Stroke Play in 2015 and finished RunnerUp at the recent Southern Cape Championship.

The round of the afternoon came from Gauteng's Kajal Mistry who signed for a one-under-par and close on a 54 score of 222 in T3 with defending champion Danielle du Toit.

Du Toit played solid golf tee to green, but with some tricky holes on the back nine, saw her finish T3 on a score of 222.

Completing the top 5 was Sarah Bouch from Serengeti, Ekurhuleni, who out herself into contention with consistent three rounds.

The Raymond Ackerman (h/caps 10 -18) and Jonathan Ackerman (h/caps 19 -32) divisions also saw tight leaderboards and tight finishes.

In the Raymond Ackerman trophy, there was a to-and-fro contest between Western Province and Royal Cape's Iman Adams and Boland/Devonvale's Amore Steyn. Also in the mix in their final round of the 36 hole Championship were Sarah van Lear of Royal Cape, Jessica Green of Clovelly and Valda Ford from Ruimsig, Gauteng.

As the final putts dropped Iman Adams had secured the win by a narrow two shots on Amore Steyn.

In the Jonathan Ackerman trophy, King David Mowbray's Glenda Muller shot below her handicap to secure the win from Parow's Gwen Baumgart. Both Muller and Baumgart played consistent golf across the 36 hole stroke play championship, however with Glenda Muller playing below her handicap she had done enough to lift the Jonathan Ackerman trophy. In 3rd place was Clovelly/RAGA's Ashleigh Mckie.

To view the prize giving photographs go to the album "2016 Ackerman Championships - Prize Giving".

Top 10 - Gus Ackerman trophy:

  • 219 Kaylah Williams 77 69 73
  • 221 Lumien Orton 72 74 75
  • 224 Danielle du Toit 77 71 76; Kajal Mistry 76 77 71
  • 225 Sarah Bouch 75 72 78
  • 226 Chiara Contomathios 73 77 76; Casandra Hall 72 76 78
  • 227 Woo-Ju Son 74 77 76
  • 229 Zethu Myeki 79 73 77; Michelle Swanepoel 78 76 75; Ashleigh Mills 77 77 75
  • 230 Lajla Hrindova 74 76 80
  • 231 Tara Griebenow 75 80 76; Yolanda Duma 74 81 76
  • 233 Crystal Beukes 75 80 78

Top 5 - Raymond Ackerman trophy:

  • 162 Iman Adams 79 83
  • 164 Amore Steyn 81 83
  • 170 Sarah Van Lear 85 85
  • 171 Valda Ford 90 81; Jessica Green 82 89
  • 174 Kate Brown 81 93

Top 5 - Jonathan Ackerman trophy:

  • 184 Glenda Muller 95 89
  • 189 Gwendoline Baumgart 91 98
  • 191 Ashleigh Mckie 94 97
  • 195 Lorette Hegie 97 98
  • 198 Tarryn Borsutzky 98 100kerman trophy:

For full results go to:

    Newsletter Signup