Matthew Cooper and Andrew Georgiou

2023 WP Foursomes Champions – Andrew Georgiou & Matthew Cooper

The 2023 WP Foursomes are one of the most eagerly anticipated events of the year.

Kuilsriver Golf Club hosted this year’s event and despite all the rain over the past week, the course held up well. Cool conditions welcomed the players for the early 7:20 start. A 36-hole challenge required teams to focus from the start.

The pair of Jungwi Lee and Shaun le Roux led the field after 18 holes with a score of 70. One shot behind them was the pairing of Andrew Georgiou and Matthew Cooper. Only two shots separated Adrian Ford and Riaan Lewis from the lead at the end of round one.

The conditions remained perfect throughout the day, and teams could enjoy the sunny weather with barely a breeze. The team of Adrian Ford and Riaan Lewis made a strong comeback in the second round in order to ensure they had a chance of winning the title. Matthew and Andrew didn’t back down, posting a 69 final round. By signing for a 2 under par 70, they improved on their round one score.

Similar to last year, the Foursomes winners were decided by playoff. Andrew Gergiou/Matthew Copper vs Adrian Ford/Riaan Lewis. Teams headed back to the 18th tee for the first playoff hole. Both teams halved the hole with birdies and headed back to the 18th again. The drive by Andrew was positioned in the middle of the fairway, leaving Matthew with an uphill approach shot to the par five 18th that required a four-iron in his hand. Ford’s approach shot narrowly missed the green. A straightforward chip by his playing partner Riaan Lewis ended up 6 feet past the hole.

Matthew Cooper’s brilliant second shot landed softly on the green and left his playing partner Andrew with a six-foot uphill putt for eagle to secure the victory. The 18th green dropped into silence as the clubhouse watched. A confident Andrew, fresh off his win at the WP Mid-Am Championship, calmly drained the winning putt to seal victory for Team Andrew/Matthew.

A special thank you to Kuilsriver Golf Club for hosting the event and congratulations to all our winners!

Gross winners:

1st – Andrew Georgiou and Matthew Cooper

2nd – Adrian Ford and Riaan Lewis

3rd – Mujahid Agherdien and AB Price

4th – Cameron Johnston and Adam Johnston

5th – Jungwi Lee and Shaun le Roux

6th – Matthew Mills and Jon Bernard

Net winners:

1st – Taahir Mallick and Hilmi Mallick

2nd – Nicolas Thompson and Paul Bezuidenhout

3rd – Dave Thompson and Brent Kirstein