Photo (29)Josh Daniels U19 Winner Vernon Dickson

Vernon Dickson Champion – Josh Daniels

3rd October – The annual Vernon Dickson Memorial Trophy was held at Kuils River Golf Club, honoring Mr Vernon Dickson, who ran the WP Junior Golf Foundation from 1965 to 1976. As a result of his sterling work with junior golf, Mr Dickson was inducted into the SA Golf Hall of Fame in 2017.

Recent tournament winner, Josh Daniels (Durbanville), came out guns blazing, firing a 5 under par 31 over the first 9 holes – birdies at the 2nd, 3rd and 8th and then an eagle 2 at the par 4 6th! A steady final 9 of level par saw Josh win his 3rd title of the year – previously Somerset West in July and Durbanville last month. This was an outstanding performance by Josh, a gross 67, which spread-eagled the field – winning by a comfortable 5 strokes.

Tristan Boise (Atlantic Beach Links) clinched the runner-up spot on 72 – starting with a double bogey but offset this with 4 birdies and 2 bogeys. In the end Tristan will feel very satisfied with his performance. Zandre Robberts (Devonvale) and Nicolas van der Vyver (Strand) both finished on 74.

The B division was won by Benjamin Smuts (Royal Cape) on 81, with Tyrese Smart (Kuils River) capturing the C division on 36 Stableford points. Local member, MC Fourie, repeated his U13 win from the previous day with another victory – on this occasion 32 Stableford points.

Results (29)VERNON DICKSON MEMORIAL Trophy 2023

The fields have not been as large as usual due to the fact that a number of juniors are currently playing in GolfRSA events.

Report by Peter Little