The 2024 edition of the King David Mowbray Open drew 88 participants, setting the stage for a thrilling competition that ranks among the highlights of the golfing calendar. Teeing off at 7:40, players encountered a variety of challenges, including the piercing winter sun and brisk breezes that tested their endurance.

In the initial round, Dan Copeman from Steenberg and Wayne Melle representing Rondebosch both posted impressive scores of 69. Meanwhile, Kaitlyn van de Vyver of Royal Cape led the women’s division with a score of 3 over par 75, narrowly edging out Annette Auhagen from Steenberg by a single stroke.

As the tournament progressed into the second round, the intensity only heightened despite a slight easing of the weather conditions. At the conclusion of round two, Wayne maintained his lead. Yet, his position at the top became tenuous with the arrival of Mitch Phigeland from Atlantic Beach, whose stellar performance matched Wayne’s score of 69, setting the stage for a thrilling showdown.

The title was ultimately decided in a sudden death playoff between Wayne and Mitch. With his previous playoff victory at the Kuils River Open bolstering his confidence, Mitch approached the duel with determination. While Wayne found himself challenged by the fairway bunker off the tee, Mitch showcased nerves of steel, landing his approach shot just 6 feet from the pin and sinking the birdie putt to clinch victory on the first playoff hole.

Additionally, Paul Slater, a member of King David Mowbray, displayed exceptional skill to claim victory in the men’s Stableford section, securing a four-point lead over Noor Badrudeen from Royal Cape.

The women’s competition was equally riveting, with Kaitlyn maintaining her impeccable form in the face of challenging wind conditions to secure the top spot. Zayaan Hendricks of Atlantic Beach made a late surge to claim second place, trailing Kaitlyn by just one shot.

In the women’s Stableford section, Kaitlyn Rix of Durbanville emerged triumphant with a three-shot victory over Ludy Hwang from Rondebosch.

Heartfelt congratulations to all the winners, and sincere appreciation to our esteemed sponsors:

  • The Pro Shop
  • Coca-Cola Peninsula Beverages
  • The Barnards Barnyard