Steenberg crowned WP Junior Golf Club Champions

Steenberg crowned WP Junior Golf Club Champions

May the 2nd was a warm humid day and STEENBERG produced the hottest golf during the WP Junior Interclub Team Championship held at Parow Golf Club.

The format of the annual event was strokeplay, teams of 4 with the best 3 scores counting. Each club in the Western Province was invited to enter a team of 4.

The STEENBERG team foursome consisting of Boston Franks (gross 73), Pearce Lewin (75), Michael Cadiz (77) and Adam Buckham (a non-counting 79) narrowly eclipsed KING DAVID MOWBRAY GC “B“ by a single shot.  The KD MOWBRAY GC ‘B’ team was Jaydon Galant (71), Naasir Khota (75), Adam Johnston (80) and Jarred Michaels (a non counting 83).

In the individual stakes Christopher Gutuza (KD Mowbray A) produced a fine 2 under par 70 – 4 birdies and an eagle offset by 4 drop shots. Jaydon Galant finished 2nd on 71.

This year an Under 13 Teams format was added with DURBANVILLE the runaway winners from KD MOWBRAY “A” by 11 clear shots. The DURBANVILLE team comprised Francois Steyn (76) and Henru Walters (77). Noah Musikanth from the runner up team won the individual honours with a fine 75.

Thanks to those clubs and managers that supported the event.

Final Results are as follows:

Final Under 13 Club Standings: Gross
Durbanville 153
 KD Mowbray A 164
Invitational 166
Royal Cape 176
KD Mowbray B 180
Steenberg A 181
Clovelly 184
Bellville A 185
Bellville B 189
Steenberg B 196
Bellville C N/R


Final Under 19 Club Standings: Gross
Steenberg 225
KD Mowbray B 226
KD Mowbray A 228
Durbanville B 234
Bellville 244
Durbanville A 246
KD Mowbray C 247
KD Mowbray D 247
Atlantis 249
Kuils River B 251
Kuils River A 258
KD Mowbray E 279
Fairview 289
KD Mowbray F 301