Tyran Snyders crowned the 2022 Rondebosch Open Champion


The 2022 Rondebosch Open was held on Sunday, 22nd May 2022.

A field of 83 players welcomed the chilly cold and mist early in the morning with a shotgun start at 07h30.

Although some players struggled to find their rhythm so early in the morning, Tyran Snyders (Durbanville) found his game early in the day finishing the first round on 6 under par, 66. This put him a clean 4 shots ahead of Francois Cilliers (Durbanville Golf Club), for the afternoon round.

John Laurie (KD Mowbray), Philip Taberer (Erinvale), Wesley Du Plessis (Durbanville), Pietie Loubser (Westlake), Riaan Lewis (KD Mowbray), Hilmi Mallick (Rondebosch) and Elmo Barnard (Strand) all finished T3 on 1 under par after the first round.

The last round showed some good golf by our players all fighting for first place but Tyran kept his head down and played the course the way he knows how finishing with a 1 under par round, 71 in the afternoon giving him a 4 shot lead over Ian Truter (Somerset West) who shot 72,69 to tie for second place with Pietie Loubser (Westlake) on a total gross of 141.

Although Ian Truter tied second in the over all Open section he won the Mid-Am section on a gross of 141 on a count out with Pietie Loubser. It all came down to Round 2 where Ian shot 69 and Pietie shot 70.

It has been good seeing the Women take part in the opens this year. Although we are not quite there yet in numbers we do hope that this section in the PAT’s will grow. Congratulations to Nina Grey (Durbanville) for her outstanding golf. Nina was hot out the starting blocks in the morning, carding a fantastic score of 1 under par, 71. The afternoon was a bit of a struggle but she kept her wits about her and card a 78. This put her 19 hots ahead of Odette Booysen (Royal Cape) who finished second on a gross of 168.

Prize Winners for the 2022 Rondebosch Open are as follows: one man one prize

Open Gross Section:
1st: Tyran Snyders – 137
2nd: Pietie Loubser – 141
3rd: Murray Boast – 143
4th: Elmo Barnard – 143 c/o

Nett: Justin Austin – 140

Mid-AM Gross Section:
1st: Ian Truter – 141
2nd: Wesley Du Plessis – 142
3rd: Riaan Lewis – 143

Nett: John Laurie – 145

Women Gross Section:
1st: Nina Grey – 149
2nd: Odette Booysen – 168

Nett: Jaden Visagie – 152

To view the full results click here.

A big thank you to Rondebosch Golf Club and its staff for hosting us and to our sponsors, Coca Cola Peninsula Beverages, Subtropico Market Agents and The Pro Shop for their continuous and generous sponsorship.