WGSA 72 Holes Teams Championship – Pretoria 21-23 May 2018


Three WP Golf women’s teams head up to Waterkloof Golf Club in Pretoria (formerly known as Monument Golf Club) to take part in the WGSA 72 Teams Championships which starts on Monday.

KZN are the defending champions, and the WP A Team will want to improve on last year’s 8th position.

Strengthened by the return of Kelly Erasmus who has completed her 3 years university in America, Kaylah Williams and Jordan Rothman will draw on last year’s IPT win to topple the champions.

The WP A team have not won this event for quite some time; their highest finish was second place behind KZN in 2015.

The B team includes Katia Shaff, Zayb Fredericks and Vicki Traut; Iman Adams, Zilke Bal, and new comer to provincial golf, Steenberg’s Bobbi Brown, make up the C Team.  The teams are managed by Anne Roos and Daphne Sole.

The Waterkloof course is laid out on the slopes of a hillside.

Even with the generous width of the kikuyu fairways, the players will do well to stay clear of the 4000 indigenous trees that were recently planted on the course.

Doglegs are thrown into the mix with some tough par-four’s and the threat of water hazards are ever-present, so course management will be crucial for low scores.