WP Amateur Championship 2023: Bennett receives the Dowie Dunn Trophy.

Located between the breathtaking Hottentots-Holland Mountain Range and the white sandy shoreline of False Bay Beach, Strand Golf Club enjoys one of the most stunning panoramic vistas natures can offer golf fans. An impeccable course sets the stage for a memorable six-day event.

The weather conditions were almost flawless during the first three days of the tournament, allowing players to capitalize on birdies and eagles.

This year’s WP Amateur Championship featured 105 players competing for the Dowie Dunn Memorial trophy.

In 1960, the inaugural WP Amateur Strokeplay Championship was held with RW Glennie as the first trophy recipient. From 1960 to 1965, he won the WPG Amateur Strokeplay four times.

Some of the notable names who have lifted the trophy in the past include:

  • 1988: D. Gammon
  • 1989: R. Goosen
  • 1992: A. Mitchell
  • 1995: H. Otto
  • 1997: U van den Berg
  • 2002: T. Aiken
  • 2005: J. Harding
  • 2006: G. Coetzee
  • 2013 & 2014: C. Bezuidenhout
  • 2018: W. Nienaber

Sixty-three years after its inception, a young star is poised to have his name engraved on one of South Africa’s most prestigious trophies.

Having previously won the Nomads SA Boys U/19 Tournament where he broke several records, Daniel Bennett (Silver Lakes Golf Club) has continued his winning streak by posting four rounds in the 60s and claiming the ultimate prize.

The highlights of his four rounds were the 24 birdies and one eagle he recorded with only four bogeys, and an uncharacteristic triple bogey on hole 18 in the third round.

This is a remarkable display of talent, indicating a future star in the making.

The Boland Amateur Championship winner, Altin van der Merwe (Belville), continued to build on his momentum, but fell short by one shot. In addition to Bennett, he was one of only two players to record four rounds in the 60s. Van der Merwe recorded 68, 66, 67, and 69 for 18 under par.

Please click here to view the final results Golf Tournaments & Results | Western Province Golf Union

Title Sponsor, PUMA Golf, Coca-Cola Peninsula Beverages and Subtropico are to be commended for making this event a tremendous success.